The Real Deal

“What kind of man is it you think you want?” she asked me and I just looked at her in a confused look.

She continued, ” I knew what I didn’t want. I didn’t want someone who was controlling. Someone like my ex-husband.” I can vouch for that. I don’t want someone like that either.

I want someone who loves Christ more than anything. I want someone who is real, who isn’t afraid to show me all of their flaws. I crave someone with a soft heart, full of emotion; understanding. I pray for someone with ears that actually listen, not just hear. There are a list of things that I could name – tall, funny, kind – but nothing will compare to when I find that man that loves Christ with all his heart.

Waiting isn’t going to be easy, but it will be worth it. God is capable of great things. My heart may hurt now because I’m choosing to be obedient, but there will come a day when I don’t have any more pain. There will be joy, pure joy.

While I work on me, and all my insecurities, I pray my husband finds hope and love in Christ. I pray that God will reveal himself in both of our lives. I’ll fix my eyes back to where they were supposed to be. I may wait 10 years before I get married, or longer, but Jesus has my soulmate handpicked. I choose to wait patiently even if it hurts.

Accepting is a choice. I accept the challenge before me, and I am praying that my husband loves Christ more than anything. Without Christ, how can a relationship succeed? I pray we both continue to press into Jesus.

1 Corinthians 13:4-7

Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud. It does not dishonor others, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs. Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth. It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres.

Leave a Reply

