“New” Girl

Being the new girl isn’t always what I have in mind when I meet people. 

But today, I’m the “new” girl who’s been existent in these lives for almost a year. The latest family gossip is all I’m hearing about, people I don’t even know. When asked my opinion, I don’t have one. I don’t know these people. 

I’m on the highway right now in the backseat listening to everything. Third wheeling like a boss seems to be my forte today. Plans that I’m excluded from because my schedule is different than theirs. The “family” that I’m marrying into. 

He can’t see what I see, nor does he understand what I’m fighting right now. He’s trying. I’m trying. 

I’m on the verge of a mental breakdown. “Stop pretending,” I keep repeating in my mind. Engage in the conversation. But why? They’re gossiping about nothing I want to be a part of. 

I’ve never felt so invisible than I do in the backseat of this car. So, how does it feel to be the “new” girl? It’s feels opinionated, rude and insignificant. 

I’m only the “new” girl once. They’ll get to know me, and maybe it will be better. 

Leave a Reply

