4 a.m. on a Monday

Who in the world is up that early?

Oh, I know. Me.

I was dreaming about everything I had to do for the next day. Grocery store, errands here, grab coffee there, call a friend here and so on. What I didn’t realize was how stressed out I actually was until I woke up from a panic attack in my sleep. Please tell me that I’m not the only one this has happened to?

What felt like forever may have been only a couple of short seconds, but how am I supposed to know? I was sleeping. It started in the beginning with the grocery store as I was dreaming about buying water (a necessity). Buying water shouldn’t be that complicated, but for someone like me it might be a big deal. I became very dehydrated at this point. I was awake to an extent that I could literally feel this happening in my body. I felt like I was suffocating. The blankets were the water, and I was losing oxygen. Imagine being forced underwater for longer than you’d like. That’s what it felt like only a bajillion times worse.

I opened my eyes and saw nothing but the dark. I realized in that moment that I wasn’t having a nightmare. I was freaking out. I thought I was dying. I was gasping for air, but I couldn’t find it. I finally sat up and grabbed my water from the nightstand, but nothing calmed the chaos. Nothing has scared me more than feeling like I was dying alone in my house that no one knows about.

Who would find me? Would they know I was here? What will they say caused the death? Why is this happening to me? Scary thoughts for someone who woke up like this.

 

 

Leave a Reply

