Candlelit Dinner

Aren’t they supposed to be nice and relaxing? 

A few moments after my sister and I lit the candles the wind gushed, and the rain started to pour. As we’re sitting here eating our bowls of cereal, I quickly began to realize that it’s just her and me in this giant two story house. Giant size pine trees just swaying in the yard are ready to bend in half and crash into us. The wind knocking at the front door is telling me it’s going to bust in. And the three kittens running around this joint are going stir crazy (much like me.) 

She’s upstairs and I’m down on the couch. Candles flickering, kitty paws tapping on the hard wood floor and silence surrounding me. Some people would say that this is relaxing, but I’m not “some people.” It’s become so easy to mask the anxiety I face daily. It’s to the point where my anxiety level is so high I don’t care about anything. 

That was today. 

After floating down my drive to come see my mom before work, then hydroplaning more than two times going to work and then being stuck at work I was overwhelmed and shut down. Ironically, I felt like I had to be strong. I couldn’t let my little sister see me freaking out. It would have only made it worse. The level of acting is on point. 

As I was driving to work, my phone went off with my verse of the day. Isaiah 26:4, “Trust in the Lord forever, for the Lord, the Lord himself, is the Rock eternal.” 

The freaking out, shutting down, lack of motivation is conquered when Jesus steps in. The trees in the road, Jesus made detours to get us home safe. 

Hurricane Mathew, thank you for allowing me to trust Jesus to get me home. 

So, back to the candlelit dinner with our bowls of cereal – it sure is a sweet thing to have a sister who’s as terrified of the dark and a giant house just like I am and to be enjoying dinner together! 

Leave a Reply

