The Dad Who Never Was 

Dear Stranger,

Thank you. No really, thank you.

Because of you, I’ve learned to be strong for myself and others. Because of you, I’ve found myself enjoying a life that you wanted no part of. Because of you, I’ve learned how to forgive the ones who aren’t sorry. Because of you, I’ve moved on and found myself becoming whole from the brokenness you left me with.

I’ve learned some lessons the hard way. “You’re just like your momma,” people say. Thank God. Because you never were, I have found a love in Christ that I probably would not have known until later in my life, and that is the best love I could ever recieve.

Because of you, I am so independent and stubborn in my ways. Sometimes it gets me in trouble, but it’s a good thing for a woman to be able to take care of herself without a man. Because of you, falling in love is one of the scariest things but one of the best because it tells me I am accepted. Because of you, I’ve learned how to not be treated by a man.

And the best thing about you being the father there never was is that because of grace and love, I can forgive you. Even though it’s painful and this is one of the days I often think “why did he not want to stay?” I don’t want to know. It’s not my fault. I’m innocent in this situation, and I’ve faced my anger with you.

Because of you, I’m stronger than I have ever been.

Congratulations 20 years late.

Sincerely,

The One Who Never Gave Up

2 thoughts on “The Dad Who Never Was 

Leave a Reply

