Hail is Crashing

Does anyone ever feel like words can come crashing down like hail in a storm and leave you cold and bruised? It’s true; they have the effect on people. But, here’s the deal: you either drown in the hail that melts or you take the hail and build a glacier and climb to the top of it because you know you’re so much stronger than you think.  

Ephesians 4:31-32 says, “Let all bitterness, wrath, anger, clamor, and evil speaking be put away from you, with all malice. And be kind to one another, tender hearted, forgiving one another, even as God in Christ forgave you.” 

“Well isn’t that a nice big cup of hot tea and honey,” is what I first thought. I’ve been in situations where my anger is so strong I’ve lost love. It should be the other way around. “Forgive as Christ forgave you.” I shouldn’t lose my love because then my eyes aren’t focused on Christ; they’re focused on the situation. 

Though I have experienced the grace of God and there’s really no way to describe it other than that it is something so profound, my heart is fighting between continuing to love and just giving up. There is hope that is greater than I can see. The bitterness that is filling my heart is only there because I am allowing it to be so! Sometimes the strongest thing someone can do is to forgive someone who is never going to be sorry. That is grace, that is healing, that is maturing in Christ. 

If we continue to love like Christ loves, forgive as he does, and focus on what’s positive, then what is there that can stand against us? Is it words? Is it depression? Is it anger? The bitterness that is building a home? 

Don’t let the hail that comes crashing down melt around you. Turn it into something amazing like a glacier that you can stand upon and shout, “this is how I got here! This made me who I am!” Because after all, who wants to lose their soul and gain the whole world? 

Leave a Reply

